Gun Control Debate: Intro

I am writing the following as a response to the current media and political climate that is breathlessly demanding a “reasonable debate,” about” common sense,” restrictions on firearms. Frankly, I am tired of the ignorance, fear, and outright cupidity that seems to pervade the current discussion. The problem has become that I am unable to find anyone to have a reasonable or common sense conversation with. Many of my associates already agree with my stance on weapons and the role of the armed citizen within a republic. Many others, that may find themselves on the fence, have been brought around to my way of thinking with simple conversation and a few trips to the firing range. I do not know anyone that is firmly anti-gun or that even seems to agree with many of the current gun restrictions that are being debated at the federal and state level.

If one takes to the internet they are quickly beset with name calling and message board, one-line, shouting matches. Many of these un-reasonable arguments are fraught with fear, misinformation, and downright ignorance. As a result I have tried to compile as many firearms related arguments as I can and discuss them in reasonable manner i.e using reason. I have attempted to avoid statistics on the whole. Many statistics are quoted on both sides of the gun control discussion. The result is typically an argument about the methods of information collection, processing or analysis. I am not a statistician so I am staying away from numbers. I want to have a clear discussion in simple language about an issue central to all Americans. The result is an attempt to better clarify my own thinking, educate and elevate the discussion, and maybe learn something in the process. Hopefully, some will realize that they need to learn more about the subject to justify their opinions and political leanings. To that end I will extend an open invitation to anyone that is willing to learn. See the “Training,” tab of this blog.

Right at the outset I want to make my own opinion known. As a professional, I have spent the largest portion of my adult life earning my living with firearms. I have never shot an IPSC, IDPA, or three-gun match. However, I have repeatedly bet my life on my training and proficiency with firearms. More importantly, I have bet my life on the training and proficiency of the men around me and in turn taken responsibility for their safety. I believe that guns are not talismans, totems, or sacred objects. They are weapons made by mankind for the purpose of serving mankind. As such they are imbued with no will or thought. Firearms are neither good nor evil; they are as good or evil as the intentions of the people that wield them. At worst they are tools of oppression, totalitarianism, destruction and murder. At best they are tools of liberation, freedom, equality, and defense of the innocent.

For modern man firearms are a measure of defensive ability previously known only to the skilled warrior classes of the pre-industrial age. The right gun with the right training can negate disparities in size, strength, age, sex and numbers. This equalization of force is the ultimate in egalitarianism, feminism, and libertarianism.

Read on in future posts to explore the counter-arguments and responses to them…

Leave a Reply

